NAWA Florida Masthead

Our History

The National Association of Women Artists was founded in 1889. It is the oldest professional women's fine arts organization in the United States. It serves professional women artists of all backgrounds and traditions. It is a not-for-profit, tax-exempt organization.

Early annual exhibitions included works by such notable artists as Rosa Bonheur, Mary Cassatt, and Susan Valadon. Later membership rosters included Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Louise Nevelson, Alice Neel, Judy Chicago, Nell Blaine, Janet Fish, Miriam Shapiro, Marisol, Audrey Flack, and Claire Romano.

NAWA is represented in 42 of the 50 states with members working in a variety of media within the visual arts. Currently, more than 800 women artists from across the United States are members of the organization.

Our Mission

"The purpose of the National Association of Women Artists (NAWA) is to foster public awareness of, and interest in, visual art created by women in the United States."

The Association promotes culture and education in the visual arts through exhibitions of its members’ works, educational programs, scholarships, awards, its historical archive, and other appropriate means.

While encouraging contemporary and emerging artists, the Association honors and continues the long and important contribution of women to the history of American culture and art.

Subscribe to our Email list, and we'll make sure that you're kept informed
about upcoming events and other happenings of interest.

© 2018 - NAWA Florida Chapter
Read This First